Seventeen Centuries on the Road from Center Place, Second Edition

Author: David E. Stuart

Publisher: UNM Press

ISBN: 0826354793

Category: History

Page: 344

View: 979

At the height of their power in the late eleventh century, the Chaco Anasazi dominated a territory in the American Southwest larger than any European principality of the time. Developed over the course of centuries and thriving for over two hundred years, the Chacoans’ society collapsed dramatically in the twelfth century in a mere forty years. David E. Stuart incorporates extensive new research findings through groundbreaking archaeology to explore the rise and fall of the Chaco Anasazi and how it parallels patterns throughout modern societies in this new edition. Adding new research findings on caloric flows in prehistoric times and investigating the evolutionary dynamics induced by these forces as well as exploring the consequences of an increasingly detached central Chacoan decision-making structure, Stuart argues that Chaco’s failure was a failure to adapt to the consequences of rapid growth—including problems with the misuse of farmland, malnutrition, loss of community, and inability to deal with climatic catastrophe. Have modern societies learned from the experience and fate of the Chaco Anasazi, or are we risking a similar cultural collapse?
Read More

Author: Jennifer C. Ross,Sharon R. Steadman

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1315305623

Category: HISTORY

Page: 440

View: 7181

Ancient Complex Societies examines the archaeological evidence for the rise and functioning of politically and socially “complex” cultures in antiquity. Particular focus is given to civilizations exhibiting positions of leadership, social and administrative hierarchies, emerging and already developed complex religious systems, and economic differentiation. Case studies are drawn from around the globe, including Asia, the Mediterranean region, and the American continents. Using case studies from Africa, Polynesia, and North America, discussion is dedicated to identifying what “complex” means and when it should be applied to ancient systems. Each chapter attempts to not only explore the sociopolitical and economic elements of ancient civilizations, but to also present an overview of what life was like for the later population within each system, sometimes drilling down to individual people living their daily lives. Throughout the chapters, the authors address problems with the idea of complexity, the incomparability of cultures, and the inconsistency of archaeological and historical evidence in reconstructing ancient cultures.
Read More

The Ancient Pueblo Landscapes of the American Southwest

Author: Vincent Barrett Price,Baker H. Morrow

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Architecture

Page: 217

View: 7900

A new look at Puebloan landscaping techniques and uses of plants and how they can influence modern architects in the Southwest.
Read More

Author: Eric H. Boehm

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 3166

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Read More

der erste Roman des Anasazi-Zyklus

Author: Kathleen O'Neal Gear,W. Michael Gear

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783453869752

Category:

Page: 555

View: 4783

Read More

Author: CQ Press

Publisher: CQ Press

ISBN: 9781568024714

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 1584

View: 754

With complete information for the 106th Congress, this text features objectively written profiles on every member of the United States Congress. The profiles contain biographical data, descriptions of relevant districts and analysis of legislative priorities. A free CD-ROM accompanies the book.
Read More

Author: Ray González

Publisher: Arte Publico Press

ISBN: 9780934770590

Category: Books

Page: 64

View: 8146

Ray Gonzalez first full-length collection of poetry explores the landscapes of the Southwest and those of the psyche, in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Antonio Machado.
Read More

Mythen, Legenden und Geschichte eines Indianervolkes

Author: Frank Waters

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783426774441

Category:

Page: 507

View: 9745

Read More

2000, the 106th Congress

Author: Philip D. Duncan,Brian Nutting,CQ Press

Publisher: CQ Press

ISBN: 9781568024707

Category: Political Science

Page: 1564

View: 2531

Now updated with complete information for the 106th Congress, Politics in America 2000 features objectively written, crisp profiles on every member of Congress. Each profile covers the member's first few months in office, including his or her committee assignments and any major accomplishments.Profiles of every member of Congress include: -- biographical data, committee assignments, election results and key votes-- detailed description of each member's congressional district, including updated maps, voting trends, and business and industry information-- an analysis of each member's legislative priorities, personal style, and achievementsSpecial features you'll find in Politics in America 2000 include: member name pronunciation guide, governors' and lieutenant governors' data, state votes for president, state demographics, major employers in each of the districts, member name index.
Read More

Author: Rose Arny

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 1928

Read More

Annual cumulation

Author: Clara Elizabeth Fanning,Margaret Jackdon,H.W. Wilson Company,Mary Katharine Reely,Mertice May James

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Books

Page: N.A

View: 6787

Read More

Author: American Book Trade Association,American Book Trade Union,Book Trade Association of Philadelphia,Publishers' Board of Trade

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2603

Read More

warum Gesellschaften überleben oder untergehen

Author: Jared M. Diamond

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783100139047

Category: Environmental policy

Page: 702

View: 3285

Die überwucherten Tempelruinen von Angkor Wat, die zerfallenden Pyramiden der Maya in Yucatan und die rätselhaften Moai-Statuen der Osterinsel - sie alle sind stille Zeugen einstmals blühender Kulturen, die irgendwann verschwanden. Doch was waren die Ursachen dafür? Jared Diamond zeichnet die Muster nach, die dem Untergang von Gesellschaften (oder ihrem Überleben) zugrunde liegen, und zeigt, was wir für unsere Zukunft daraus lernen können.
Read More