Author: Peter Atkins,Loretta Jones

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1429219556

Category: Science

Page: 1024

View: 9108

This text is designed for a rigorous course in introductory chemistry. Its central theme is to challenge students to think and question while providing a sound foundation in the principles of chemistry.
Read More

The Quest for Insight

Author: Peter Atkins,Loretta Jones,Leroy Laverman

Publisher: Macmillan Higher Education

ISBN: 1319075126

Category: Science

Page: 1200

View: 5202

Written for calculus-inclusive general chemistry courses, Chemical Principles helps students develop chemical insight by showing the connections between fundamental chemical ideas and their applications. Unlike other texts, it begins with a detailed picture of the atom then builds toward chemistry’s frontier, continually demonstrating how to solve problems, think about nature and matter, and visualize chemical concepts as working chemists do. It also offers an exceptional level of support to help students develop their mathematical and problem-solving skills. For the new edition, Chemical Principles now takes a modular approach, with coverage organized as a series of brief Topics within 13 major areas of focus, including a refresher on the fundamentals of chemistry and an online-only section on techniques.
Read More

The Quest for Insight

Author: Peter Atkins,Loretta Jones,Leroy Laverman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781319099718

Category:

Page: 1200

View: 2086

Read More

Author: Carl Hoeger,Laurence Lavelle,Yinfa Ma

Publisher: Worth Publishers

ISBN: 9781464107078

Category: Chemistry

Page: 755

View: 922

This student's solutions manual follows the problem-solving structure set out in the main text, and includes detailed solutions to all odd-numbered exercises in the main text.
Read More

The Essential Concepts

Author: Jonathan Crowe,Tony Bradshaw

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199662886

Category: Science

Page: 704

View: 4167

Chemistry pervades our life. It moulds our climate, fuels our transport, gives food its taste and smell. Most of all, chemistry powers life itself. Chemistry for the Biosciences leads students through the essential concepts of chemistry that are central to understanding biological systems, using everyday examples and analogies to help them get to grips with the subject. With an emphasis on clear, straightforward explanations, it features biological examples throughout to illustrate just how integral chemistry is to the biosciences. With topics drawn from organic, physical and inorganic chemistry, students will encounter a broad range of essential concepts to master. Chemistry for the Biosciences includes many learning features - both in print and online - to help students grasp these concepts as quickly and thoroughly as possible. From the self-check questions throughout each chapter to help consolidate learning, to the Chemical Toolkits and Maths Tools that help students explore terminology, methods, and numerical skills that may be unfamiliar, the book is written to be a true course companion for students on biological and biomedical science degrees - one that will help them not only remember the essentials, but really understand them, setting students up for success in their later studies.
Read More

Chemistry, Chemistry

Author: CTI Reviews

Publisher: Cram101 Textbook Reviews

ISBN: 1490272437

Category: Education

Page: 298

View: 3817

Facts101 is your complete guide to Chemical Principles, The Quest for Insight. In this book, you will learn topics such as as those in your book plus much more. With key features such as key terms, people and places, Facts101 gives you all the information you need to prepare for your next exam. Our practice tests are specific to the textbook and we have designed tools to make the most of your limited study time.
Read More

Author: Steven S. Zumdahl,Donald J. DeCoste

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1305581989

Category: Science

Page: 1216

View: 6593

This fully updated Eighth Edition of CHEMICAL PRINCIPLES provides a unique organization and a rigorous but understandable introduction to chemistry that emphasizes conceptual understanding and the importance of models. Known for helping students develop a qualitative, conceptual foundation that gets them thinking like chemists, this market-leading text is designed for students with solid mathematical preparation. The Eighth Edition features a new section on Solving a Complex Problem that discusses and illustrates how to solve problems in a flexible, creative way based on understanding the fundamental ideas of chemistry and asking and answering key questions. The book is also enhanced by an increase of problem solving techniques in the solutions to the Examples, new student learning aids, new “Chemical Insights” and “Chemistry Explorers” boxes, and more. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.
Read More

A Journey Into The Land Of The Chemical Elements

Author: P. W. Atkins

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN: 0786725273

Category: Science

Page: 176

View: 627

Come on a journey into the heart of matter--and enjoy the process!--as a brilliant scientist and entertaining tour guide takes you on a fascinating voyage through the Periodic Kingdom, the world of the elements. The periodic table, your map for this trip, is the most important concept in chemistry. It hangs in classrooms and labs throughout the world, providing support for students, suggesting new avenues of research for professionals, succinctly organizing the whole of chemistry. The one hundred or so elements listed in the table make up everything in the universe, from microscopic organisms to distant planets. Just how does the periodic table help us make sense of the world around us? Using vivid imagery, ingenious analogies, and liberal doses of humor P. W. Atkins answers this question. He shows us that the Periodic Kingdom is a systematic place. Detailing the geography, history and governing institutions of this imaginary landscape, he demonstrates how physical similarities can point to deeper affinities, and how the location of an element can be used to predict its properties. Here’s an opportunity to discover a rich kingdom of the imagination kingdom of which our own world is a manifestation.
Read More

The Mathematics of Biological Systems

Author: Alan Garfinkel,Jane Shevtsov,Yina Guo

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319597310

Category: Mathematics

Page: 445

View: 4690

This book develops the mathematical tools essential for students in the life sciences to describe interacting systems and predict their behavior. From predator-prey populations in an ecosystem, to hormone regulation within the body, the natural world abounds in dynamical systems that affect us profoundly. Complex feedback relations and counter-intuitive responses are common in nature; this book develops the quantitative skills needed to explore these interactions. Differential equations are the natural mathematical tool for quantifying change, and are the driving force throughout this book. The use of Euler’s method makes nonlinear examples tractable and accessible to a broad spectrum of early-stage undergraduates, thus providing a practical alternative to the procedural approach of a traditional Calculus curriculum. Tools are developed within numerous, relevant examples, with an emphasis on the construction, evaluation, and interpretation of mathematical models throughout. Encountering these concepts in context, students learn not only quantitative techniques, but how to bridge between biological and mathematical ways of thinking. Examples range broadly, exploring the dynamics of neurons and the immune system, through to population dynamics and the Google PageRank algorithm. Each scenario relies only on an interest in the natural world; no biological expertise is assumed of student or instructor. Building on a single prerequisite of Precalculus, the book suits a two-quarter sequence for first or second year undergraduates, and meets the mathematical requirements of medical school entry. The later material provides opportunities for more advanced students in both mathematics and life sciences to revisit theoretical knowledge in a rich, real-world framework. In all cases, the focus is clear: how does the math help us understand the science?
Read More

Author: Amy Zhang

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 006238306X

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 4811

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place. Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt. Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.
Read More

The First Forty Years

Author: Clifford Dykstra,Gernot Frenking,Kwang Kim,Gustavo Scuseria

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN: 0080456243

Category: Science

Page: 1336

View: 4596

Computational chemistry is a means of applying theoretical ideas using computers and a set of techniques for investigating chemical problems within which common questions vary from molecular geometry to the physical properties of substances. Theory and Applications of Computational Chemistry: The First Forty Years is a collection of articles on the emergence of computational chemistry. It shows the enormous breadth of theoretical and computational chemistry today and establishes how theory and computation have become increasingly linked as methodologies and technologies have advanced. Written by the pioneers in the field, the book presents historical perspectives and insights into the subject, and addresses new and current methods, as well as problems and applications in theoretical and computational chemistry. Easy to read and packed with personal insights, technical and classical information, this book provides the perfect introduction for graduate students beginning research in this area. It also provides very readable and useful reviews for theoretical chemists. * Written by well-known leading experts * Combines history, personal accounts, and theory to explain much of the field of theoretical and compuational chemistry * Is the perfect introduction to the field
Read More

An Innovation Approach

Author: Mono M. Singh,Ronald M. Pike,Zvi Szafran

Publisher: Wiley

ISBN: 9780471585961

Category: Science

Page: 768

View: 6441

This laboratory manual utilizes an investigative approach which departs from the traditional format of providing experiments with predetermined solutions. Includes both microscale and macroscale experiments which cover topics such as biochemistry, polymer chemistry and materials science.
Read More

Author: Richard Dawkins

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 9780192860927

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 352

View: 3898

An ethologist shows man to be a gene machine whose world is one of savage competition and deceit
Read More

Author: Peter Atkins,Julio de Paula

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1429231149

Category: Science

Page: 590

View: 1589

Peter Atkins and Julio de Paula offer a fully integrated approach to the study of physical chemistry and biology.
Read More