Author: Richard Siken

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780300107210

Category: Poetry

Page: 62

View: 4513

A collection of poems driven by obsession reveals a poetry that is at once confessional, graceful, and savage.
Read More

Author: Richard Siken

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780300107210

Category: Poetry

Page: 62

View: 3275

A collection of poems driven by obsession reveals a poetry that is at once confessional, graceful, and savage.
Read More

Author: Richard Siken

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780300107210

Category: Poetry

Page: 62

View: 9419

A collection of poems driven by obsession reveals a poetry that is at once confessional, graceful, and savage.
Read More

Author: Richard Siken

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780300107890

Category: Poetry

Page: 62

View: 1133

A powerful collection of poems driven by obsession reveals a poetry that is at once confessional, gay, savage, and charged with a violent eroticism. Simultaneous.
Read More

Author: Richard Siken

Publisher: Copper Canyon Press

ISBN: 1556594771

Category: Poetry

Page: 96

View: 7528

Best-selling poet and painter Richard Siken uses strong, bold strokes to reveal a world abstract, concrete, and exquisitely complex.
Read More

Author: Jay Hopler

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300114546

Category: Poetry

Page: 71

View: 4282

A collection of poems by Jay Hopler, winner of the 2005 Yale Series of Younger Poets competition.
Read More

Author: Eduardo C. Corral

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300178921

Category: Poetry

Page: 76

View: 3355

Showcases the poems, which, seamlessly braiding English and Spanish, bring his experiences as a Chicano and gay man to life, of the first Latino poet to win the Yale Series of Younger Poets.
Read More

Author: Noah Warren

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300217153

Category:

Page: 104

View: 8050

Winner of the 2015 Yale Series of Younger Poets prize
Read More

Author: Katherine Larson

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 030017179X

Category: FICTION

Page: 87

View: 6243

Katherine Larson is the winner of the 2010 Yale Series of Younger Poets Competition. With "Radial Symmetry," she has created a transcendent body of poems that flourish in the liminal spaces that separate scientific inquiry from empathic knowledge, astute observation from sublime witness. Larson's inventive lyrics lead the reader through vertiginous landscapes - geographical, phenomenological, psychological - while always remaining attendant to the speaker's own fragile, creaturely self. An experienced research scientist and field ecologist, Larson dazzles with these sensuous and sophisticated poems, grappling with the powers of poetic imagination as well as the frightful realization of the human capacity for ecological destruction. The result is a profoundly moving collection: eloquent in its lament and celebration. Metamorphosis [an excerpt]: We dredge the stream with soup strainers and separate dragonfly and damselfly nymphs - their eyes like inky bulbs, jaws snapping at the light as if the world was full of tiny traps, each hairpin mechanism tripped for transformation. Such a ricochet of appetites insisting life, life, life against the watery dark, the tuberous reeds.
Read More

Author: Duy Doan

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300230877

Category: Poetry

Page: 104

View: 808

The 112th volume of the Yale Series of Younger Poets explores the Vietnamese-American experience
Read More

Poems

Author: George Calvin Waldrep

Publisher: Center for Literary Pub

ISBN: N.A

Category: Poetry

Page: 96

View: 9489

Winner of the 2003 Colorado Prize for Poetry Published by the Center for Literary Publishing at Colorado State University
Read More

Author: Matthew Dickman

Publisher: Amer Poetry Review

ISBN: N.A

Category: Poetry

Page: 85

View: 5662

All American Poem embraces the ecstatic nature of our daily lives. Introduction by Tony Hoagland.
Read More

Author: Cathy Song

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300029697

Category: Poetry

Page: 85

View: 1450

Poems portray people's journeys and migrations and pay homage to the art of the American painter, Georgia O'Keeffe, and a Japanese printmaker
Read More

Poems

Author: Matt Rasmussen

Publisher: LSU Press

ISBN: 0807150886

Category: Poetry

Page: 72

View: 5481

In his moving debut collection, Matt Rasmussen faces the tragedy of his brother's suicide, refusing to focus on the expected pathos, blurring the edge between grief and humor. In "Outgoing," the speaker erases his brother's answering machine message to save his family from "the shame of dead you / answering calls." In other poems, once-ordinary objects become dreamlike. A buried light bulb blooms downward, "a flower / of smoldering filaments." A refrigerator holds an evening landscape, "a tinfoil lake," "vegetables / dying in the crisper." Destructive and redemptive, Black Aperture opens to the complicated entanglements of mourning: damage and healing, sorrow and laughter, and torment balanced with moments of relief.
Read More

Author: Elisabeth Hewer

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781999773632

Category: Poetry

Page: 80

View: 4814

In this collection of fifty poems, Elisabeth Hewer ponders love and the world, whilst tackling the inexplicable desires and dangers that thread through our daily lives. At times hopeful, at times despairing, her poems ruminate on all the things we come up against, even if, on occasion, it's only ourselves.
Read More

Author: Ansel Elkins,Carl Phillips

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300210027

Category: Poetry

Page: 88

View: 1948

Winner of the 2014 Yale Series of Younger Poets prize
Read More

Author: Ocean Vuong

Publisher: Copper Canyon Press

ISBN: 1619321564

Category: Poetry

Page: 70

View: 2510

Winner of the 2016 Whiting Award One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2016" One of Lit Hub's "10 must-read poetry collections for April" “Reading Vuong is like watching a fish move: he manages the varied currents of English with muscled intuition. His poems are by turns graceful and wonderstruck. His lines are both long and short, his pose narrative and lyric, his diction formal and insouciant. From the outside, Vuong has fashioned a poetry of inclusion.”—The New Yorker "Night Sky with Exit Wounds establishes Vuong as a fierce new talent to be reckoned with...This book is a masterpiece that captures, with elegance, the raw sorrows and joys of human existence."—Buzzfeed's "Most Exciting New Books of 2016" "This original, sprightly wordsmith of tumbling pulsing phrases pushes poetry to a new level...A stunning introduction to a young poet who writes with both assurance and vulnerability. Visceral, tender and lyrical, fleet and agile, these poems unflinchingly face the legacies of violence and cultural displacement but they also assume a position of wonder before the world.”—2016 Whiting Award citation "Night Sky with Exit Wounds is the kind of book that soon becomes worn with love. You will want to crease every page to come back to it, to underline every other line because each word resonates with power."—LitHub "Vuong’s powerful voice explores passion, violence, history, identity—all with a tremendous humanity."—Slate “In his impressive debut collection, Vuong, a 2014 Ruth Lilly fellow, writes beauty into—and culls from—individual, familial, and historical traumas. Vuong exists as both observer and observed throughout the book as he explores deeply personal themes such as poverty, depression, queer sexuality, domestic abuse, and the various forms of violence inflicted on his family during the Vietnam War. Poems float and strike in equal measure as the poet strives to transform pain into clarity. Managing this balance becomes the crux of the collection, as when he writes, ‘Your father is only your father/ until one of you forgets. Like how the spine/ won’t remember its wings/ no matter how many times our knees/ kiss the pavement.’”—Publishers Weekly "What a treasure [Ocean Vuong] is to us. What a perfume he's crushed and rendered of his heart and soul. What a gift this book is."—Li-Young Lee Torso of Air Suppose you do change your life. & the body is more than a portion of night—sealed with bruises. Suppose you woke & found your shadow replaced by a black wolf. The boy, beautiful & gone. So you take the knife to the wall instead. You carve & carve until a coin of light appears & you get to look in, at last, on happiness. The eye staring back from the other side— waiting. Born in Saigon, Vietnam, Ocean Vuong attended Brooklyn College. He is the author of two chapbooks as well as a full-length collection, Night Sky with Exit Wounds. A 2014 Ruth Lilly Fellow and winner of the 2016 Whiting Award, Ocean Vuong lives in New York City, New York.
Read More

Poems

Author: Lee Ann Roripaugh

Publisher: Milkweed Editions

ISBN: 1571318968

Category: Poetry

Page: 112

View: 311

Based on sources as diverse as Heian period female Japanese writers and the world of science fiction, and drawing on her own experience as a second-generation Japanese American, acclaimed poet Lee Ann Roripaugh’s fourth collection explores a series of “word betrayals”—English words misunderstood in transmission from her Japanese mother that came to take on symbolic ramifications in her early years. Co-opting and repurposing the language of knowledge and of misunderstanding, and dialoguing in original ways with notions of diaspora and hybrid identities, these poems demonstrate the many ways we attempt to be understood, culminating in an experience of aural awe. At once wonderfully lyrical and strikingly acute, Dandarians will further establish Lee Ann Roripaugh as one of the most important and original voices in contemporary Asian American literature.
Read More

Author: Adrienne Rich

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393348156

Category: Poetry

Page: 72

View: 9394

“We are in the presence here of a major American poet whose voice at mid-century in her own life is increasingly marked by moral passion.”—New York Times Book Review
Read More

Author: Nicole Williams

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471117642

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 8027

Fans of Crash and Clash will be dying to get their hands on this third red-hot romance featuring Lucy and Jude. Anyone who loved, Slammedby Colleen Hoover, Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire and Just For Now by Abbi Glines will love this series from Nicole.
Read More