Interchange in the Wake of God

Author: David Lewin,Simon D. Podmore,Duane Williams

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1317090942

Category: Religion

Page: 264

View: 5726

Exploration of the interface between mystical theology and continental philosophy is a defining feature of the current intellectual and even devotional climate. But to what extent and in what depth are these disciplines actually speaking to one another; or even speaking about the same phenomena? This book draws together original contributions by leading and emerging international scholars, delineating emerging debates in this growing and dynamic field of research, and spanning mystical and philosophical traditions from the ancient, to the medieval, modern, and contemporary. At the heart of which lies Meister Eckhart, perhaps the single most influential Christian mystic for modern times. The book is organised around significant historical and contemporary figures who speak across the intersections of philosophy and theology, offering new insights into key interlocutors such as Pseudo-Dionysius, Augustine, Isaac Luria, Eckhart, Hegel, Heidegger, Marion, Kierkegaard, Deleuze, Laruelle, and Žižek. Designed both to contribute to current trends in mystical theology and philosophy, and elicit dialogue and debate from further afield, this book speaks within an emerging space exploring the retrieval of the mystical within a post-secular context.
Read More

Author: Albert L. Blackwell

Publisher: Westminster John Knox Press

ISBN: 9780664224868

Category: Religion

Page: 255

View: 4351

Religion and music are complementary resources for interpreting our lives. Music serves the sacred in ways that can be specified and articulated, yet the connection between them has been sorely neglected in the scholarly study of religion. In The Sacred in Music, Albert Blackwell brings the two subjects together in a celebration of the rich Western musical tradition, both classical and Christian.
Read More

Deconstruction, Theology, and Philosophy

Author: Kevin Hart

Publisher: Fordham Univ Press

ISBN: 9780823220502

Category: Philosophy

Page: 320

View: 5902

The Trespass of the Sign offers a clear and thorough account of the relations between deconstruction and theology. Kevin Hart argues that, contrary to popular thought on the topic, deconstruction does not have an antitheological agenda. Rather, deconstruction seeks to question the metaphysics of any theology. Hart pays particular attention to mystical theology as nonmetaphysical theology.
Read More

Author: J. Kellenberger

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137553308

Category: Philosophy

Page: 188

View: 8766

The subject of this book is the relationship and the difference between the temporal everlasting and the atemporal eternal. This book treats the difference between a temporal postmortem life and eternal life. It identifies the conceptual tension in the religious idea of eternal life and offers a resolution of that tension.
Read More

a practical guide to the Western mystery tradition

Author: Caitlín Matthews,John Matthews

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781850630173

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 288

View: 8723

Read More

Author: Clarence E. Rolt

Publisher: Cosimo, Inc.

ISBN: 1602068364

Category: Religion

Page: 212

View: 9173

First published in 1920, this book is a translation-the only known work of British scholar CLARENCE EDWIN ROLT (1880-1917)-of On the Divine Names and The Mystical Theology, by Dionysius the Areopagite, a first-century bishop of Athens. The author is often also referred to as "pseudo-Dionysius" because a variety of anachronisms suggest that the manuscript was actually written much later by an unknown writer. Despite the book's unclear origins, the writings are still greatly valued for their theological insight. Saint Thomas Aquinas often quoted from pseudo-Dionysius, as did many other famous and influential theologians and philosophers. Pseudo-Dionysius deals, here, with the Supra-Personality of God. Personality, by definition, is a quality limited to an individual. God, on the other hand, is the opposite of an individual. God is in all things, so one cannot speak of a personality for the divine. Rather, pseudo-Dionysius proposes a Supra-Personality, which describes aspects and qualities of the universal being. Religious scholars and Christians wanting a different understanding of the relationship between God and the universe will find this a challenging but ultimately thought-provoking study.
Read More

Christianity, atheism, secularism, world religions

Author: Hans Schwarz

Publisher: SPCK Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 288

View: 5504

Read More

Author: Terry L. Cross

Publisher: Peter Lang Pub Incorporated

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 232

View: 6560

Early in his theological development, the Swiss theologian, Karl Barth, used a philosophical method called dialectic to organize his theological framework. In recent years, rather intense discussion has arisen over the source of Barth's dialectic and whether it remained in effect during the later period of the writing of <I>Church Dogmatics or it diminished in importance under the new rubric of analogy. Terry L. Cross examines the sources of Barth's dialectic and investigates how it continues to operate alongside analogy within Barth's doctrine of God in <I>Church Dogmatics. The conclusion is that Barth's doctrine of God will not work without his special dialectic and analogy - a<I> dialectica fidei as well as an <I>analogia fidei.
Read More

Author: Peter Pesic

Publisher: Mit Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 262

View: 6349

The age-old question "Why is the sky blue?" begins a quest through science, history, and art, from Aristotle and Newton through Goethe and Einstein.
Read More

an historical survey

Author: Christopher B. Kaiser

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 152

View: 4476

Read More

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Dead Sea scrolls

Page: N.A

View: 941

Read More

Author: Vladimir Lossky

Publisher: James Clarke & Co

ISBN: 0227905083

Category: Religion

Page: 252

View: 9691

Through a combination of careful scholarship and the warmth of the deep personal devotion of the author, this book provides the authoritative English study of Eastern orthodox theology. Lossky's account makes clear the profound theological differences between East and West, as well as offering an important contribution to ecumenism and to the life of Christian devotion. The tradition of the Eastern Church is presented as a mystical theology with doctrine and experience mutually supporting each other.
Read More

The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite

Author: Eric D. Perl

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 079148002X

Category: Philosophy

Page: 175

View: 4973

Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.
Read More