the reminiscences of an English veterinary surgeon

Author: Reginald Harrison Smythe

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Medical

Page: 135

View: 5709

Read More

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Medicine

Page: N.A

View: 9790

Vols. for 1939- include the Transactions of the 15th- annual meetings of the American Association of the History of Medicine, 1939-
Read More

Memories of the last Christmas Eve during World War II

Author: Antonia Katharina Tessnow

Publisher: TWENTYSIX

ISBN: 3740737808

Category: Fiction

Page: 28

View: 531

1943. It is Christmas. All around the world, children write diaries to somehow cope with the unbelievable experiences they are send through during wartimes and turmoil. The slightly older sister of Antonia Katharina`s mother is 9 years old when she describes the events of one single night through her childish eyes. A destiny that leaves deep impressions on ones soul and won`t leave anyone untouched. A wonderful reminder of the peaceful times we are allowed to live in today.
Read More

Disease, Livestock Economies, and the Globalization of Veterinary Medicine

Author: Karen Brown,Daniel Gilfoyle

Publisher: Ohio University Press

ISBN: 0821443100

Category: Science

Page: 288

View: 4145

During the early 1990s, the ability of dangerous diseases to pass between animals and humans was brought once more to the public consciousness. These concerns continue to raise questions about how livestock diseases have been managed over time and in different social, economic, and political circumstances. Healing the Herds: Disease, Livestock Economies, and the Globalization of Veterinary Medicine brings together case studies from the Americas, western Europe, and the European and Japanese colonies to illustrate how the rapid growth of the international trade in animals through the nineteenth century engendered the spread of infectious diseases, sometimes with devastating consequences for indigenous pastoral societies. At different times and across much of the globe, livestock epidemics have challenged social order and provoked state interventions, often opposed by farmers and herders. The intensification of agriculture has transformed environments, with consequences for animal and human health. But the last two centuries have also witnessed major changes in the way societies have conceptualized diseases and sought to control them. From the late nineteenth century, advances in veterinary technologies afforded veterinary scientists a new professional status and allowed them to wield greater political influence. While older methods have remained important to strategies of control and prevention, as demonstrated during the outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease in Britain in 2001, the rise of germ theories and the discovery of vaccines against some infections made it possible to move beyond the blunt tools of animal culls and restrictive quarantines of the past. Healing the Herds: Disease, Livestock Economies, and the Globalization of Veterinary Medicine offers a new and exciting comparative approach to the complex interrelationships of microbes, markets, and medicine in the global economy.
Read More

Author: Margrit Coates

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 144649179X

Category: Nature

Page: 176

View: 5009

Healing for Horses is the most comprehensive guide available on the subject of using healing energy with horses. In this book, the world’s leading animal healer, explains what healing is, how it works and how it helps in the context of horses. Margrit Coates gives practical guidance on how you can learn the skill yourself, when and where to do it, together with 'dos and don'ts'. Margrit also describes the way energy runs through a living being, what and where the chakras are on horses, and how healing can benefit horses and improve the horse-human bond. Included are many fascinating case histories of horses who have been sick, depressed, injured, traumatised or terminally ill, with detailed descriptions of how healing has helped them all. Packed full of tips, photos, illustrations and guidelines, Healing for Horses is an essential book for every horse lover, as well as those of us who work with horses in any capacity way.
Read More

Memories and Musings

Author: M. Terry Mills

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1587217775

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 214

View: 4660

To live a godly, peaceable life in this World, a Believer must be "filled" with the Holy Ghost and have the Fruit of the Spirit actively working in his personality. However, before he can possess these emotional qualities and grow spiritually, the "field" of his mind and emotions must be pruned, purged (during personal trials) and "cleansed" by the Word of God. Unfortunately, Satan is not just going to sit back and let this happen without putting up a fight, so he uses all kinds of sly, deceitful strategies to hinder or stop this process in our life. He systematically uses sin, unrestrained emotions and false teaching to "dig holes" in our health, character and personality. If we intend to reach the "more" and "much" fruit-bearing stages Jesus spoke about in John 15:2,5, you and I must strive to "catch" the foxes we see in our life before they destroy our vines! As we go through trials and tribulations, we must take advantage of every opportunity to gain more spiritual knowledge and understanding. The woman who was healed from the Issue of Blood understood what the "hem" of the priest's garment represented so, as a result, her knowledge + her need + her determination energized her faith and pushed it to a level that drew so much virtue out of Jesus that she received her Healing and He had to ask, "Who touched me?" When we understand the rudiments of the Word of God and understand the fundamental principles that support what we believe, it will energize our faith and maximize the level of what we receive from the Lord! Understanding is the key to growth and spiritual success!
Read More

The Complete Guide to Preventive Health Care and Natural Remedies

Author: Jenny Morgan,Jan Agar Bergeron

Publisher: Storey Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Pets

Page: 207

View: 7595

More and more horse owners are turning to alternative therapies to enhance the health and well-being of their equine companions. Many believe - as Jenny Morgan does - that horses kept in a healthy, all-natural environment have fewer health problems. Thus, this essential reference for horse owners begins with preventive care. Natural Healing for Horses teaches how to know a horse thoroughly, from forelock to fetlock; understand a horse's moods and immediately recognize the slightest change in appearance or behavior; build a stabling system that has proper space, drainage, and safety; select the ideal pasture location; and develop affordable and natural routines for exercising, feeding, watering, and grooming horses kept in a stable or at pasture. The second section of this book addresses specific health issues and suggested therapies, including herbal and homeopathic treatments, chiropractic, acupuncture, massage, and aromatherapy, as well as standard veterinary treatments. Whatever the need, Morgan provides all the information necessary to choose the right natural treatment to improve a horse's general well-being or solve particular health problems.
Read More

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Union catalogs

Page: N.A

View: 3398

Includes entries for maps and atlases.
Read More

Author: Maureen O'Connor

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1610691466

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 723

View: 1332

Memoirs, autobiographies, and diaries represent the most personal and most intimate of genres, as well as one of the most abundant and popular. Gain new understanding and better serve your readers with this detailed genre guide to nearly 700 titles that also includes notes on more than 2,800 read-alike and other related titles. • A list of subjects and suggested "read-alikes" accompany each title • Appendixes cover awards, websites, and resources • Detailed indexes provide further points of access
Read More

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 7003

Issues for Nov. 1957- include section: Accessions. Aanwinste, Sept. 1957-
Read More

A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog

Author: Patricia B. McConnell

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501150154

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 5857

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will. World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs—with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth. Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough. Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.
Read More

Die Monty-Roberts-Methodes des JOIN-UP

Author: Monty Roberts

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 9783404605507

Category: Nature

Page: 352

View: 4405

Die Sprache der Pferde - zum ersten Mal von Monty Roberts kompakt dargestellt! Die Monty-Roberts-Methode des Join-up hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren weltweit bewährt. In seinem neuen Trainingshandbuch beschreibt und erläutert der "wahre Pferdeflüsterer" die einzelnen Schritte der Kommunikation zwischen Mensch und Pferd. Dieses Buch ist die Quintessenz aus sechs Jahrzehnten Arbeit mit Pferden, es ist das Hauptwerk des Monty Roberts - ein Muss für alle Reiter und Pferdeliebh aber!
Read More