A compelling tale of love, war and temptation

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 1472223640

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 9522

A passionate affair. A dark secret. A tainted legacy. In The Jeweller's Wife, Judith Lennox writes an epic tale of passion and betrayal that moves through the turbulence of war to 1960s London. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazelets series. 'A fast-moving, complex story' - The Times 1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller. But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambition, lies a cruel and ruthless man. And when dashing politician, Gillis Sinclair, comes to stay at Marsh Court, Juliet is drawn to his irresistible charm. So begins a passionate affair that will have consequences far beyond anything Juliet imagines. For Gillis Sinclair is hiding a dark secret and, as the next generation of Wintertons grows up, Juliet fears that they, too, will be tainted by the past... What readers are saying about The Jeweller's Wife: 'A very cosy read, full of suspense and drama with exacting tragic interludes' 'A jewel of a book' 'This is a wonderfully woven story with skilful, beautiful writing. If you enjoy historical family sagas with love and tragedy, passion and secrets I would highly recommend this'
Read More

Author: Pope John Paul II

Publisher: Samuel French, Inc.

ISBN: 9780573695346

Category: Marriage

Page: 45

View: 9989

Read More

Author: Gary Taylor

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 0198185693

Category: Drama

Page: 2016

View: 766

Thomas Middleton is one of the few playwrights in English whose range and brilliance comes close to Shakespeare's. This handsome edition makes all Middleton's work accessible in a single volume, for the first time. It will generate excitement and controversy among all readers of Shakespeare and the English classics.
Read More

Author: N.A

Publisher: OUP

ISBN: 9780198185697

Category: Drama

Page: 2016

View: 7765

Thomas Middleton (1580-1627) - 'our other Shakespeare' - is the only other Renaissance playwright who created lasting masterpieces of both comedy and tragedy; he also wrote the greatest box-office hit of early modern London (the unique history play A Game at Chess). His range extends beyond these traditional genres to tragicomedies, masques, pageants, pamphlets, epigrams, and Biblical and political commentaries, written alone or in collaboration with Shakespeare, Webster, Dekker, Ford, Heywood, Rowley, and others. Compared by critics to Aristophanes and Ibsen, Racine and Joe Orton, he has influenced writers as diverse as Aphra Behn and T. S. Eliot. Though repeatedly censored in his own time, he has since come to be particularly admired for his representations of the intertwined pursuits of sex, money, power, and God. The Oxford Middleton, prepared by more than sixty scholars from a dozen countries, follows the precedent of The Oxford Shakespeare in being published in two volumes, an innovative but accessible Collected Works and a comprehensive scholarly Companion. Though closely connected, each volume can be used independently of the other. The Collected Works brings together for the first time in a single volume all the works currently attributed to Middleton. It is the first edition of Middleton's works since 1886. The texts are printed in modern spelling and punctuation, with critical introductions and foot-of-the-page commentaries; they are arranged in chronological order, with a special section of Juvenilia. The volume is introduced by essays on Middleton's life and reputation, on early modern London, and on the varied theatres of the English Renaissance. Extensively illustrated, it incorporates much new information on Middleton's life, canon, texts, and contexts. A self-consciously 'federal edition', The Collected Works applies contemporary theories about the nature of literature and the history of the book to editorial practice.
Read More

An epic wartime novel of passion, betrayal and danger

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 075538587X

Category: Fiction

Page: 378

View: 2639

Across continents, through times of war and peace, love lives on... Judith Lennox delves into the world of the Russian aristocracy in her gripping wartime novel, The Heart of the Night. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Kate Morton. 'I have fallen completely in love with Judith Lennox's writing - she's a fantastic storyteller!' Jill Mansell '[A] wonderfully creative tale of how ordinary people across Britain and Europe lived through an extraordinary time... The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story' - Newcastle Herald In the spring of 1936, Kay Garland embraces an exciting new life of glamour when she becomes companion to Russian Konstantin Denisov's daughter, Miranda. The two girls become firm friends, and when Miranda falls in love with a young Parisian, Kay helps her keep the relationship secret. But Konstantin learns of the affair and promptly dismisses Kay, leaving her penniless and stranded in Nazi Berlin. By chance she meets Tom Blacklock, who pays for her ticket home, and is destined to play an important part in her life. As for Miranda, she makes a decision that will put her in the path of disaster. With the outbreak of war come death and destruction and, for both women, consuming passion, along with the fear of losing all that they hold dear. After Hitler's defeat, there are new dangers - and opportunities to find love where least expected. What readers are saying about The Heart of the Night: 'Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned. This is a book to lose yourself in' 'The book is beautifully written - the author evokes an atmosphere so that you feel as if you are actually there' 'The best Lennox novel'
Read More

Islamic arts of the book from the Vever Collection

Author: Arthur M. Sackler Gallery (Smithsonian Institution),Glenn D. Lowry,Susan Nemazee

Publisher: Univ of Washington Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Art

Page: 240

View: 4456

Shows Persian, Arabic, Turkish, and Indian manuscripts
Read More

A spellbinding novel of love, loyalty and the ties that bind

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 1472224124

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 6322

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies... Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton. The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead. Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy's life for ever... What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Ideal escapism' '[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings' 'Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned'
Read More

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 1472223985

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 6508

'I have fallen completely in love with Judith Lennox's writing - she's a fantastic storyteller!' Jill Mansell HIDDEN LIVES is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, sure to appeal to readers of Kate Morton, Tracy Rees and Rachel Hore. Praise for Judith Lennox: 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel' Daily Mail A surprise inheritance reveals the hidden lives of two sisters, torn apart by tragedy... Following her grandmother's death, Rose Martineau inherits The Egg, an extraordinary house nestling in the Sussex countryside. She discovers that the mysterious house originally belonged to her grandmother's younger sister, Sadie, who Rose never knew existed. In her search to uncover why the sisters grew apart, Rose is drawn back into the glamorous and decadent world of the 1930s. Meanwhile, Rose's own life as a dutiful wife and mother is turned upside down by a sordid scandal that threatens to destroy her marriage. It is only once she has unravelled the secrets of Sadie's past that she is able to look to her own future... An epic tale of secrets, scandal, jealousy and passion spanning the twentieth century.
Read More

Author: William Trevor

Publisher: Vintage Canada

ISBN: 0307367401

Category: Fiction

Page: 220

View: 4029

Here is a new collection of twelve absorbing, deeply compassionate tales that reveal the subtle revenges of love and indifference, the deep wells of affection, and the strange, breathtaking tricks of chance that make up the texture of our lives. In the rain-washed Italian hills, a forgotten artist's Annunciation brings light to a heartbroken woman; insidiously, in her struggle for love, the second wife of a blind piano tuner distorts his memories of the first; two children, survivors of divorce, mimic their parents' dramas and passions; a mother, tied through love and fear to her son, watches with helpless dread as she realizes the monster he has become. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Read More